The Garden Filled With Weeds

Movie Reviews, ACG and Cosplay Discussion, or just any rambling topics that come to my mind.

5 Taobao Shop I Suggest You Don’t Buy From September 28, 2012

All speaking from personal experiences, no benefit is gain from this post, simply told from a customer’s POV.

In order to make it onto this list, this shop must have TERRIBLY disappointed me.

First of all, I’m not a picky buyer, most of the time I’ll give a good review as long as the quality is decent, even if it’s not, as long as it’s not bad, I won’t be that bothered.

Well, however, it might just be because I was unlucky, I happen to be the few customers they didn’t pay that much attention to?

Just a little bit of experiences I had, it’s not 100% accurate, after all I’ve probably just bought from them once or twice.

1. 1/2 Prince (Wigs)
Okay, this one isn’t severe, it was just a issue about my head being too big.
The problem probably lies with me, so people who are thinking about buying from this shop, don’t worry too much.
So, I bought a Shizuo wig from them.

I have to say, the style is perfect, simply perfect, perfection.

Actual wig

However, the flaw was that, it’s really thin.
Probably just 1 layer of fibre.
Another thing is, the net under the wig is really small, and my head had a pretty hard time fitting in.
But I must say, it’s really well-styled.
So my dear friends and readers who have a pretty small head circumference, just go ahead, because the quality is not the problem.

2.Meng Meng Cos(Cosplay Shoes)
Hmm… Where do I even start.
I was planning to do a Megurine Luki cosplay, and as every Vocaloid fan should know, Luka herself have really special shoes.
Golden boots, with the shoe lace slanting towards one side.
So naturally, I turned to Taobao.
Because I was using it for Luki, so I didn’t want it to be heels, it would be way too feminine for him.


I bought the pair that has a complete base, and when it reached me, I was stunned by how fragile the materials are.

Let me tell you, it’s just a layer of fake leather, the end.
The shoes were also a lot smaller, and the base was so small, and with the boots so fragile, when wearing it, your feet fall everywhere.
Most girls face this problem, the front of their feet is a little bit too big for normal heels, and that was the problem I faced with those boots.
Not just that, I can’t even close the lace completely to cover my socks.


I’ve only wore them once, and I don’t ever dare to wear it again.
After the event I even had to change to the pair of platform boots I had lent my friend earlier.
For my fellow cosplayers, you should know how uncomfortable platform boots can be.
But guess what? After changing to platform boots, I felt a lot more comfortable!
Don’t be fooled by the fact this shop had a crown, it’s only because very few shops on Taobao give such services.

3.The Hope(Cosplay accessories, eg stockings)
I’ll be straight forward about this one.
DON’T BUY FROM THEM.
I’ve bought from them twice, first was for my friends who were cosplaying as Stocking from Panty and Stocking, and that wasn’t that big of a problem.
After all I wasn’t the one using them, so I don’t have much of a say on that one.
So, based on the first good impression, I bought from them again.
Guess what? The stockings came to me DIRTY.
I bought 2 pairs of white stockings, 1 pair of black.
One of th white stockings had a patch of yellow mark on it, the other had blue.
The black one turned out pretty fine, but I was still pissed, because I’d rather they stain the black, instead they stain on the white, which makes it look mega obvious.
Also, for the free gift they give for every item you buy, basically, it was just things that the seller didn’t want anymore.
Take for example(taken from actual comment), expired instant coffee powder.
That’s so fucking useful, I wonder if it can earn me a MC for school/work.
Also, don’t believe what they say about the products being made in Japan, they’re probably made in China.

4.CosOnline (wigs, costumes, props, make up)
Actually, I don’t even have to mention this shop’s name, because you can’t buy anything from them right now due to the fact they’re heavily affected by the island fight between Japan and China.
But it’s still worth mentioning because I was really angry with what I got.
I bought this Panty gun, the seller had mentioned that it will look slightly different from the picture.(because of material difference)
But what I got, was VERY different from the picture.

Let me show you some picture of how different the actual product is.

Yep, and fucking 74RMB for this.
It’s not even about how different, it’s a issue about whether the seller is putting in any effort.
Don’t say shit like “you could make one yourself.”(I tried actually, and failed)
Well, she’s opening up a shop to sell such things, I have the rights to comment on the things she make.

5.Anselarno(underwear, stockings, mainly for females)

Maybe it was just a be choice of location to buy such things.
I bought two safety pants, because at that time I was thinking of cosplaying as some characters with rather short skirts, and I was sending in an order, so I thought, why not?


Then… When it came to me, it was really tight.
Maybe I just have really large thighs(which I do), but it was supposed to be free size, and the white pair I bought was translucent.
So during a photoshoot when my skirt flew up due to the wind, the photographer could still see things.(he’s probably disgusted rather than happy)

Well, just gives me a second thought about buying from them again.(their products does look really well presented)

Especially since the shop is Tmall, meaning it’s supposed to be branded and approved.(Big brands like Adidas, SK-II, CASIO, MANGO…)

That’s all I have for now, I’ll post a part 2 when I get more products from other shops, always trying new things, and my father isn’t making me very happy with his new girlfriend and a child I don’t fucking know came from where, so I’m not very guilty about spending his money now.

Just kidding, maybe half serious but whatever.

Do leave a comment about any terrible experience with taobao shops, that had greatly disappointed you with their products.

 

2 Responses to “5 Taobao Shop I Suggest You Don’t Buy From”

  1. Usa Says:

    I was thiiiis close to purchasing something from Meng Meng Cos but after reading through your experience, I’m starting to have second thoughts.

    Thanks a lot for the warnings!

    • Zakito Says:

      Glad to be able to help, of course different products they have may be of different qualities and I might just happen to be unlucky, all the best in finding the perfect shoes for your cosplay~


Leave a Reply

